Stuffs of great joy, slow cooker, sorrel, quince, fermented lemons, oh My!

Showering.  Yes!

Having work, even overflowing work, so much nicer than not enough work for a full paycheck.

Listening to my awesome boogiedown playlist while I:

*prep this awesome slow cooker Chai tea brisket from Strictly Delicious  http://www.strictlydelicious.com/slow-cooker-chai-tea-brisket/

*toss bones, acv, salt and water in the roaster for some bone broth to make up

*Smell the beautiful quince that I bought at Wal-Mart yesterday!  Have you ever smelled a quince?  I had not, and now?  I am in love!  I am going to get more, so I can jelly/jam some and leave the others are awesome air fresheners!

I found out that in addition to being high in in pectin so that they jam/jell nicely, that the seeds can be used to make a cough syrup!  There are many links to be found, but here is an amazing Persian Kitchen blog that has tickled my BOB (big old brain).

Quince Seeds: Persians’ Remedy To Soar Throat And Cough

I have been thinking about getting quince bushes for a while, but smelling the awesome scent of these – I think my dwarf pomegranates might have to get a new growing space or be sacrificed for the quince.  I have seen it growing down the street. I wonder if those folks even harvest the quince from their bush?  Note to self – pay some attentioning

flowering%20quince

 

Another thing to add to my fruit/veg/herb/spice list of the year *a la Terry Wahls, more on that later*

So, Sorrel or hibiscus.

It can be made into many things, like Zinger tea and setch, also I know its a Jamaican Christmas punch maker.  I made up some (our Hispanic population locally has grown and its awesome because now we have so much to choose from that we did not before, like local tamarind and hibisicus, I do not have to trudge across Atlanta to get it! yaay for diversity growing growing! ) dried hibiscus tea and whoot!  That stuff means business. I am weaning myself off coffee for the AIP come next month, and so am doing some warm drinks of hibiscus (sorrel) and fermented lemon tea.  BUT!  this grocery shopping trip, DeKalb had fresh sorrel, so I gave it a try and boiled I up last night.

So good to my tastebuds that like tangy flavors. So much lighter than the dried tea I made.

I added a bit of maple syrup to my cup this morning, pretending I was having a Christmas office party, but 1 T is not really enough to sweeten the 2 cups of this tea, so, enough to sweeten it, seems like its going to be a seriously unhelpful amount of maple syrup in my face for just a sweet drink.  Good thing for me tangy works fine.

Also,  note to self about linking up rosella jam, speaking of hibiscus/sorrel

note to self, link up AIP, quick fermented lemons, regular fermented lemons and sorrel info!

Now to work!!

Have an awesome day, folks!  You know, if you like.  I am not thebOssa you!  :}

Happy, healthy, whole, coming at us.
brandi

3 thoughts on “Stuffs of great joy, slow cooker, sorrel, quince, fermented lemons, oh My!

  1. Oh I can’t wait to hear how you like the brisket! Please do let me know!

    Hibiscus tea is definitely one of my favorites. How fortunate that it is so easily accessible to you! Good luck to you on the AIP; it’s sooo worth it 🙂

Leave a comment